Regulation of Speech and Harassment


Final report (pdf)


Name Title
Co-Chair: Eduardo Peñalver ’94 the Allan R. Tessler Dean and professor of law, Law School
Florencia Ardon adviser, Office of Internal Transfer and Concurrent Degrees
Weston Barker ’21 College of Arts and Sciences
Michael Dorf the Robert S. Stevens Professor of Law, Law School
Mariela Núñez Santos graduate student, molecular biology and genetics
Madelyn Wessel university counsel and secretary of the corporation
Karen Smeda ’18 Law School
Sruthi Srinivasan ’21 College of Engineering
Ari Weiss executive director, Cornell Hillel, Cornell United Religious Work

The Regulation of Speech and Harassment subcommittee will review and make recommendations to address:

  1. Has the university appropriately promulgated principles and regulations that address free speech on campus as well as prohibit discrimination and harassment?
  2. Are the Campus Code of Conduct or other policies the right vehicle(s) for establishing such regulations and principles?
  3. Are we sanctioning discrimination, harassment and related misconduct appropriately? Are enforcement mechanisms fair and clear?
  4. What legal mechanisms are available to the university to prevent, address and counter situations in which protected expression on campus is harmful to those vulnerable to its effects?